top of page
Writer's pictureJessie Kopka

Art takeover!

For the last few weeks, I have been taking some time away from working at the hospital and focusing all of my energy, where possible, into creating works of art.


It has been an exciting and productive time. I am continuing to contribute to my self directed challenge of creating a pattern a day and I am astounded by how many works have manifested since the end of May 2018.


Having more time to focus on making art has meant I have also had more time to reflect and reconnect with previous works. In relation to the artwork above, I revisited some works that I created in 2011/2012 for a commission about Etruria and the local area. I scanned in the original artworks and created a new piece with the components.


However, money does not last forever so I will be returning to work again soon with the goal of raising more funds to filter into the art making process. This month, I spent a full day at Wavemaker (stoke) creating vinyl stickers for the patternation series and laser etching pattern boards to expand the workshop toolkit (collection of items to utilise in art workshops).


I have begun incorporating UV painting into my practice, through photography and scanning, I have digitally manipulated and created pattern/art from the initial experiments to take on new forms.



I have also started thinking about movement within my artwork. I would like to experiment more with video, as I have in the past. As a starting point, I have been creating gifs to capture and illustrate movement.


Creating gifs is extremely satisfying and easy to do and you can even do it on your phone! I am interested in seeing where this channel of inquiry takes me.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


  • @JessieKopka
  • @JessieKopka
  • Jessie Kopka Artist
  • Pinterest
  • Jessie Kopka
bottom of page